Nine former DOJ antitrust chiefs urge Senate to confirm Jonathan Kanter as antitrust head

3 weeks ago

Signage is seen astatine the United States Department of Justice office successful Washington, D.C., August 29, 2020.

Andrew Kelly | Reuters

Nine erstwhile chiefs of the Justice Department's Antitrust Division wrote to leaders of the Senate and its Judiciary Committee Thursday, urging them to confirm President Joe Biden's nominee to the position, Jonathan Kanter.

The missive is simply a striking amusement of bipartisan enactment down Kanter, who was a progressive favourite for the relation and a professional of Big Tech. The signatories see astatine slightest 1 typical from each medication since President Gerald Ford. Former President Donald Trump's antitrust head, Makan Delrahim, is among them.

"Although we whitethorn disagree connected immoderate antitrust issues, we stock 2 important convictions," the erstwhile officials wrote. "First, the Antitrust Division needs a person who is astute and experienced, who appreciates the important relation antitrust enforcement plays successful our system and who is susceptible of inspiring the talented men and women of the Division to proceed their efforts to beforehand contention successful each sectors of the economy. Second, we hold that Jonathan Kanter has the endowment and the enactment skills to bash the occupation well."

They added that respective of the signatories had seen Kanter's enactment firsthand portion helium worked arsenic a proceedings lawyer astatine the Federal Trade Commission and aboriginal arsenic a backstage signifier attorney.

"He knows the substance of antitrust. He appreciates its value to the American consumer. He is simply a astute and articulate advocate. He respects his adversaries and inspires his colleagues and co-counsel," they wrote. "In short, we judge Mr. Kanter is close for this important position."

Here is the afloat database of signatories:

Donald I. Baker, Assistant Attorney General 1976 - 1977

Sanford Litvack, Assistant Attorney General 1980 - 1981

Charles F. Rule, Assistant Attorney General 1986 - 1989

James F. Rill, Assistant Attorney General 1989 - 1992

Joel I. Klein, Assistant Attorney General 1996 - 2000

Thomas O. Barnett, Assistant Attorney General 2006 - 2008

Christine A. Varney, Assistant Attorney General 2009 - 2011

William J. Baer, Assistant Attorney General 2013 - 2016

Makan Delrahim, Assistant Attorney General 2017 - 2021

Subscribe to CNBC connected YouTube.

WATCH: How US antitrust instrumentality works, and what it means for Big Tech